Getting Rid of Passwords and Integrating Google Firebase

--

Preface: As you may know, I’m building a new on-line cybersecurity training environment (Cyber&Data — and partly funded by The Data Lab), and I don’t want to store any passwords and want to drive everything through AWS. Most people have at least one trusted account, and their Google ID is typically the one used. Our students use Microsoft Live, so that’s another one that I need to support. But there needs to be others, so I’ve turned to Google Firebase for a platform to support the login process. This has great advantages for businesses as it will integrate the logon process into a single console, and can then drive a whole lot of analytics. But for me, I just want to authenticate the user into the environment.

Hello Firebase

Years ago I said that JavaScript would never take on, but how wrong could I have been? The cumbersome language is now a foundation element of a new Web. One that has no delays, and is fast. It is one where the browser finally takes over the functionality of the desktop app. And so I’ve added Microsoft and Google login for my site, but I just couldn’t get code for a Twitter login. And so I turned to the new kid on the block … Google Firebase:

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.