Go Learn Cisco …

--

We have built a very successful MSc course, and at its core is the strong understanding of networking, network protocols and network security. Why? Because, these topics are the core foundation of cybersecurity. If you understand how IP and TCP work, and how the application layer protocols operation, you have a solid foundation to build on.

And, so, over a decade ago I created a Flash version of Cisco routers, switches, PIXs, and hosts:

I gave it the name of NetworkSims. But, when Adobe changed to a new version of ActionScript(and which meant I would have to re-write a good deal of code) , I moved all my code to Microsoft .NET:

It all looks a bit clunky now, but it looked great at the time. The only problem was the MSI to install the program, and in how difficult it was to update it. I also charged for a licence, and had to obfuscate the…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.