Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

In The Days Before LaTeX, PCs and Wordprocessors … There Were Typewriters, Tipp-Ex and Pens

--

I used to write lots of books. But not as much now, as is such a lengthy process, and by the time your book is released, it needs to be updated. For me, the Internet now provides me with a way to investigate ideas in a more dynamic way. Overall, though, we take the PC and the Internet for granted, and in the days before the rise of the PC and of the Internet, the process of publishing research work was a time-consuming process. My research is all about the future, so, as it’s nearly Christmas, let’s have a small dip into the past.

Finding papers

My small tip to any active researcher … and I don’t just mean academic researchers, as we should all try to keep up-to-date with the current research … is to read a new paper and an old ‘classic’ paper each week. For this I typically scan Google Scholar for papers published in the current year, and find ones that look like they are being highly cited:

In the example above we see 28 citations within the current year, so something interesting is happening with this paper. After giving it a quick scan, I download and then…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.