Me and Golang … For Cybersecurity, The Gopher is Nearly Perfect!

--

At my core, I am a C coder. It is ingrained in me. I suppose the first programming language that you learn is always like that. Here, in fact, is the first book I published:

I loved C because it didn’t force me to stick to a strict usage. I could twiddle bits if I wanted, and could use pointers to reference things in memory. But, of course, these things contribute to the major weaknesses of C. Many of the bugs we see in programs are often code by the flaws of C (especially for buffer overflows).

And so after a little detour around Pascal, C++, Java, FORTRAN 77 (!!!), Assembly Language, Delphi (remember that amazing language?), Flash, and a few others, I settle on C#, as it felt natural to me, and especially with .NET. And then ASP.NET MVC came along, and I was hooked. But, it has been slipping, and I just can’t get the latest cybersecurity libraries in .NET. I also found that Cybersecurity students just loved Python, so I move to run Python as a back-end, and ASP.NET as a front-end.

And so I love the power of Python, but the syntax has never seemed natural for me, and I still have to Google for loop() statements. But…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.