Photo by Behnam Norouzi on Unsplash

My Top 10 Things To Learn in 2023

--

In 2022, we lost Pele. He was a great footballer, but an even greater person. To me, his best quote was:

“Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, studying, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.”

Let me pick out a few words here:

  • hard work.
  • studying.
  • sacrifice.
  • perseverance.
  • love of what you are doing or learning to do.

Learning is not is easy, but if you learn something that you love, it becomes so much easier.

My Top 10

Okay. I’m an academic and a teacher, so I am biased toward the power of education to change people’s lives. I would not be in the position that I am in now without the foundation that my formal education has given me. But, education never ends, and it should be a lifelong strive to understand things in a deeper way. It feeds your brain and keeps your mind active. The knowledge I gained from my formal qualifications is only a tiny fraction of my knowledge now. But, it did teach my how to learn, and how to strive to improve my knowledge.

So, here are my 10 things to learn in 2023:

  • The Public Cloud. I have intentionally put this…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.