Scripting Your Digital World: Python is King!

--

A few years ago, some of our students used to question why they did Python. But now, they often love it, especially as they see its relevance. Few job roles within a technology field will avoid its usage, so go and learn it, and script your digital world.

So let’s take an example of setting up a DNS and email service in the cloud, and see how we can use Python to make all this work.

Taking control of DNS and Email

Sometimes in your work environment, you get yourself a jolt and disrupt something. I’ve done it for years, and it normally ends up with something new and with new opportunities. For me, I want to script everything related to my work, and have things ready so that I can minimise the time I spend of the overhead of manually processing things. One problem area is DNS and associated domains, as I have them often in different domain hosts (1&1 and GoDaddy). But it wants to take back control, and be in a similar place I was before, where I’d be able to control the registration and the sending and receiving of emails.

DNS

And so the DNS hosting using Route 53 it was quest easy to transfer an existing domain from GoDaddy:

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.