Security Testing on a R-PI

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
Coinmonks
Published in
10 min readAug 1, 2018

--

Step aside Windows and Intel … this new world belongs to Linux and ARM. The days of x86 (yuk!) are receding and the command line is King again!

The Raspberry Pi (R-PI) is a fantastic device and I’ve used it with Ubuntu for my demonstrations. I now have a whole lot of new demonstrations coming up, and they are going to be much more in-depth that they have in the past. Along with this we have a few new research project which go into great depth on capturing wireless packets. And, things are just moving closer to the hardware, so we need a test system which we can control more than a desktop system.

Pen Testing on a R-PI

So I decided to build a Pen Testing infrastructure with the R-PI, where I can get all the tools I need, within a proper Linux infrastructure. I’ve kinda given up trying to get work arounds with Windows for my Python code, so Linux is the only solution, and Kali is the only one that makes sense for in-depth testing.

First, you download the standard image for Pi 3 (kali-2.1.2-rpi2.img.zx which, with Unarchiver, expands to kali-2.1.2-rpi2.img). On my Macbook, I then pointed my dd utility to write the SD card with Kali:

billbuchanan@MacBook-Pro-3:~$ diskutil list/dev/disk2 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
Coinmonks

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.