Photo by s j on Unsplash

Ten Years Is A Long Time In Computing … And Towards Using The Public Cloud As a Platform to Teach

--

In 2012, London hosted the Olympic Games. It doesn’t seem that long ago, but ten years in computing is actually long time. If we agree with Moore’s Law, we have increased our computing power by a factor of 64 (double every 18 months).

Compute Like It Was 2012

And, in 2012, I connected to the Internet with a speed of much less than 1Mbps and often used my university network to connect, but now I can connect with speeds that are up to 1Gbps (x1,000) — and at home. I also often used floppy disks to install and back up servers and operating systems. Now, with a click of a link, my server backs itself up in less than a minute, and where I can go back to any backup I want within minutes.

For servers, when they crashed, I would have to jump in my car and have to fix them over long weekends and evenings. If you have ever seen the effect of a power outage on a data centre, you will know how stressful it is in getting everything back up and running.

Now, within seconds, I can be alerted about a crash, and for it to fix itself. If I wanted to upgrade our servers, I would have to create a whole business case and go out to tender and get someone to install them. Now, I click on a click and upgrade in…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.