The Backdoor in your Living Room

--

I had to smile the other day when I saw this headline:

It basically took my back to the old phrase … “The Network is the Computer”, and where I realise that we just have just plain-old computers running within our smart devices in the home. I often show that my wi-fi kettle is just plain old Linux:

And how simple it is to extract firmware from a device:

And so we replace the old attacks our against computers with new ones will be against our TVs, toasters and toys.

Overall the virus scanning on TV is a partnership between Samsung and McAfee Software, and where Samsung TVs are shipped with a virus scanner. Smart TVs, themselves, have range of operating systems [1]:

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.