When A Typo Matters … Sending Sensitive Military Information to Mali

10 years of sensitive data

--

I receive a good deal of incorrect emails on my Gmail account. Most of it relates to the gathering of war veterans in the US or church events in Illinois that I must attend. Why? Because someone, somewhere, has a similar email address to me. Perhaps it is Bill Buchan or Will Buchanan? Who knows, but I get them constantly, and where I discretely decline the invite and ask them to check the email address.

Overall, I never embarrass those who send me these emails by responding back to the whole group. Many times, there can be over 50 people that are copied into the email. It is all part of the silly world of email. But, when incorrect emails go to places with sensitive data, we must worry.

And, so, the Financial Times [here] has now disclosed that a typo in the definition of an email address has sent 100s of thousands of emails from its military domain (.MIL) to the Mali domain (.ML):

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.