Ref [here]

Your Computer Monitor Could Be Leaking Sound Information …

--

Recently, I found that my Cisco WebEx agent was seeking out other devices in my home, and while most software packages will broadcast onto a network, this program uses acoustics [here]:

Overall, it feels rather strange for my computer to seek out other devices using ultrasound methods — especially as I can’t remember it asking me for this. But, some of the coolest work around relates to the usage of side channel analysis to discover secrets, and so I am currently reading this paper [here][1]:

Ref [here]

Experimental setup

The research work aims to pick up the vibrations that are caused when a computer screen refreshes its content. It involves using a directional acoustic receiver. The attacks identified were:

  • Close-range and at-distance attacks. With this, an attacker could listen in on the audio feeds from a call, and pick up the contents of the screen for this. The experimental setup for this is should in Figure 1.

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.