An Uno and Golang

--

Recently, I saw a posting about installing a light weight version of Golang on an Arduino Uno, and I was hooked. Overall, it’s beautiful, and takes me back to the 1980s when electronics was fun:

And so, I don’t want to develop using Sketch and with the default GUI, so it was off to Golang for me [here]:

And, as I have Mac, it’s an easy install:

$ brew tap tinygo-org/tools
$ brew install tinygo
$ brew tap osx-cross/avr
$ brew install avr-gcc
$ brew install avrdude
$ git clone --recursive https://github.com/tinygo-org/tinygo.git
$ cd tinygo
tinygo$ brew install llvm
tinygo$ go install

And so with the code of:

package main// This is the most minimal blinky example and should run almost everywhere.import (
“machine”
“time”
)
func main() {
led := machine.LED
led.Configure(machine.PinConfig{Mode: machine.PinOutput})
for {
led.Low()
time.Sleep(time.Millisecond * 500)

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.