Figure [here]

Go Read A Paper — Part 1

When Your Main Cyber Risk is Releasing Your My Little Pony fan club Membership

--

If you are new to Cybersecurity, which published papers would you give to someone, in order for them to understand some of the great advancements in the field? And, as a teacher, which papers would you hand out to your students?

Preface

I love Cloudflare products, and in their drive for better standards for cryptography. And, one of my main tips to anyone who wants to innovate is to read at least one research paper a week. For me, I get a classic paper and a new paper and try and read them in some detail. This normally involves implementing the methods used and which allows me to understand the methods better, and (hopefully) feed this into my teaching and research.

And, so when the Head of R&D at Cloudflare (Nick Sullivan) posted his shortlist of papers of great papers in security engineering, it grabbed my interest:

Figure: [here]

Luckily, I had the privilege to interview Nick recently, here:

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.