Photo by Ilya Pavlov on Unsplash

Going Native With Coding

--

If asked for the applications I need to do my work, I would always start with Visual Studio (and Visual Studio Code, of course). If an artist needs paints and a canvas, I need Visual Studio to do my work. Basically, unlike most other packages, it is irreplaceable. For me, I need to run my ASP.NET code on a Microsoft IIS server and compile it on my Mac.

At the core of this is a magical little framework called .NET. But, what about Intel and ARM? Well, that’s where it gets a bit messy.

As you should know, Apple decided to move away from Intel x86/x64 and onto ARM architecture. It was a radical move like the one they did when they moved from IBM processors to Intel and had to rebuild their complete operating system. To give you a hint of the change, the Intel processor uses a little endian data format, and the IBM processor used the big endian data format. This meant that the data was processed and store in a completely different way.

But, it worked, and saved Apple — and who were struggling that the time to compete against the PC and Microsoft Windows. It was a genius move and allowed them to focus their work on their user interface, as the hardware underneath was basically just a PC. And, so for Apple, they jumped again, as they wanted a processor that could run cool and scale onto all their devices. And there was only one solution … the ARM…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.