I ♥ Ciphers

--

I love cracking ciphers! I love cracking ciphers! I love cracking ciphers! In fact, I think it is one of the main reasons that I do Cybersecurity. In fact, my favourite thing I ever did at school was solving a Caeser cipher. I can vividly remember the joy of cracking it. Over the years we have thus presenting ciphers to schools, and, generally, they have loved them.

Overall,there’s something of a challenge to take a secret message and to crack it. It’s a kinda human thing. And, it is a challenge to create ciphers which keep things secret for Bob and Alice, and for Eve to crack it.

And so I’ve been on the hunt for as many ciphers as I can find, and fit them into an on-line cipher challenge system. I wanted to make it ever changing, so that users do not learn the answers, and to run it in a class, where every user gets a different challenge:

I personally thing that every single pupil at school should be given ciphers to crack. So, I’ve created a challenge generator with answers (for teachers), here:

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.