My Top 10 Digital Things To Learn in 2019

--

Okay. I’m an academic, so I love learning new things, but it should be part of your world too. A healthy and active mind is one of the best ways to keep yourself healthy overall.

Our life should be built around us continually learning, and never sitting back on our knowledge. So let 2019 be the year that you pushed yourself forward and learnt something new within our digital world. If possible, try and avoid just surface learning, and properly understand the foundation principles of new ways of thinking. It is so easy to sit back and criticise new methods, without actually delving into them and seeing their potential for yourself.

Our world is changing, and there are some things that will transform our understanding of our digital world. So here are my Top 10 things to learn in 2019:

  1. Go code in Python. I developed through C, and onto C++, and then onto C#. When ASP.NET MVC came along, I could see no faults in it, especially in creating scalable Web sites. But I had been tricked into thinking that everything had to be run through Visual Studio and had to be properly integrated at compilation time. There was another way, and it was more interesting and fun, and involved scripting. And so Python crept up on me in trying to find the latest code in cryptography. Increasingly I was waiting for the latest port into C#, and the…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.