Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

The First Rust Governance Crisis?

--

Sometimes you need to push yourself outside your comfort zone and learn new things. So I am comfortable with most programming languages, and my favourite to use is probably Golang. Its syntax is obvious to me (as opposed to the horrible Python syntax and commands), and I can compile to machine code. It really is C for a modern era of GitHub integration. It also seldom fails to compile (unlike Python which can be broken easily). But, Rust has come along with a new way of doing things, and which aims to address the memory problems that a sloppy developer can cause.

So, Rust is at the top of my agenda for learning, and I’ve forced myself to write code in Rust. To me, I could read a whole book on Rust, and still not understand it. But if I fire up Microsoft Studio Code, I can learn a whole lot more:

To me, there are few programs like Microsoft Visual Code, and it allows code to come alive. And, so, Rust looks like a stable language which has so many libraries that can be integrated into it. But, this happened last week [GitHub message]:

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.