Photo by Pascal Bernardon on Unsplash

We Need A Blockchain Act for Every Country

… to protect our citizens, stimulate innovation, and build an economy fit for the 21st Century

--

Over the past few months, I have signed so many DocuSign’s. Basically, I have no idea what the trust basis is for this, especially as I use differently generated wet signatures for each document I sign. Basically, it is not my signature, and, in fact, I don’t really know what my signature is anymore, as I just scribble things now. I assume what they do is to provide a unique link for a user and then log their IP address on the signing. But, you can’t really assign a person to a link in an email address, nor to an IP address. It’s basically fake digital, and enough to get around laws that were created centuries ago, and which enabled commerce.

We have thus never really entered into a proper digital age, and where we can lock down signatures to the person. But it now goes wider than signatures, as we must move the ownership of our assets from paper-based documents and single registrations on databases to methods which can transfer assets using electronic tokens. The opportunities in creating new innovation are almost endless … instant auditing of the ownership of every house in a country, instant understanding of the sales in a property market, instant registration of planning permission on…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
ASecuritySite: When Bob Met Alice

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.