L-GAP

Long Man
ashishtells
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2017

Language is the representative of a society. However it changes from time to time & places to places. These days due to cultural change, globalization & virtual social sites, there has been introduction of many more slang words, short codes, emoticons. To which we must be at least good to be called social according to them, who are using it fluently.

In 2009, an incident happened in my life. I started using Facebook & as i was new to this I just keep poking people, they poke again then I poke back. Then chatting comes in fashion especially with girls. One day I said something funny-romantic to one of my friend, she replied LOL, a new word to me, checked in dictionary, not found. I thought it’s abbreviation. I called one of my friend, what does it mean? Obviously he was also new to this. As settling on the full form of word, we settled on “Lots Of Love”. It changed things. But what happened next will share in details next time in separate post.

Similarly when it comes to using emoji, i am bad at using them. There are a lots of version of emoji that it would take at least 2–3 daya of study to understand them. So I avoid them.

An similar incident happened in my college days, when our project guide saw our report & gently without any expression said that this was the most absurd project report he had ever seen. I don’t know the quite meaning of ABSURD at that time & also his expressions were not matching what does the word really mean. He was all cool & even smiling. I calculated that he had said that this was the best project, he had ever seen. I replied him “thank you very much sir, this happened just because of your guidance”. Sudden change in his expression, & he said only one word “Leave”. Outside his room, my project friends told me the exact meaning. & i laughed & laughed.

Such incidents happen just because of non proper knowledge of language or outdated from the social slang language. To understand both, you have to join both different opposite banks of river. But finally you end up with master of none.

L for Language,

L for learning,

L for lifetime.

--

--

Long Man
ashishtells

Guzar gya woh ek waqt, Guzar gya woh ek shaqsh, nhi guzri teri yaadein, Mai tujhko yaad krta hu, Naa koi milne ki khawaish, Naa tujhko paane ki koi zidd, magar