What is “intuitive”?

And my thoughts around how it’s used to describe design

Ashley Ann
Ashley Crutcher
3 min readMar 3, 2017

--

“Oh, it’s so intuitive”

I wish I had a penny for every time I heard or read that phrase as a designer. I’ve long had a growing uncomfortableness with using the word to describe design.

Because, what truly is intuitive? Googling “define intuitive” gives me this:

It has a sidenote that in the realm of computer software, it means easy to use and understand.

I want to make a note here — the definition does specify “what one” feels to be true. Therefore, a software can be intuitive to a person, or a specific audience, which we have certainly found to be true. But, I think we have fallen into a trap where we attribute it as being intuitive to all.

Instead, what we generally consider “intuitive” applications are really just designs that make use of previously learned conventions and good design practices that work well for a slightly tech savvy audience.

Example

Icon

I’ve been mentoring a junior designer who took part in some of his first usability studies. His audience spans the gambit from educated people to people who barely understand a written language. All using the same application.

I’ve seen the screens — to many of us more tech savvy people this application would be declared “intuitive”.

Even so, he came back and debriefed a little bit with me about how mind-blown he was about how much teaching they had to do with their application.

Thanks noun project!

For example, this “pop out” icon is fairly standard for indicating when a modal might open, or you’ll be taken out into something else.

“symbols we use to indicate things don’t really mean anything to them, like flags or modal pop out symbols”

So it stands to reason that this is a learned convention, not intuitive to all, but intuitive to those who are somewhat tech savvy.

Designing for the future

I listened to an episode of 99% invisible called “Ten Thousand Years” (http://99percentinvisible.org/episode/ten-thousand-years/) where designers were trying to come up with a way to communicate to future humans that a site was radioactive, stay away!

It doesn’t seem all that difficult, but if you read the article/listen to the episode, it’s quite enlightening the process they went through and how they worked through a number of design problems.

Hey other designers

What are your thoughts on intuitive and how it’s used to describe design? I’d love to hear them!

(Coming next, my thoughts on using the word clean to describe design).

Ashley Crutcher is a UX Designer at InterVarsity located in Madison, WI. She tweets at @ashleyspixels and enjoys cuddling with her cat, crocheting, working out, and thinking too much about everything.

--

--