About

Ashley Warren
Ashley Warren Writes
2 min readJul 15, 2017

I’m Ashley Warren, and I’ve had a book in my hand since I can remember. After spending nearly 10 years as a journalist and editor, I completed graduate school and decided to focus more on research. But when I’m not researching, I’m writing; it’s impossible for me to separate my two passions. (My third passion, closely linked to the other two, is travel.)

I hold a B.A in English Literature and an M.A in Literacy/Research Studies from the University of Nevada, Reno. In 2012, I was awarded Journalist of Merit by the Nevada Press Association.

Formerly, I was the editor-in-chief of the Brushfire Literature + Art Journal, UNR’s art publication; Wildflower Magazine, a creative literary magazine for women; and The New Artemis, a web magazine about adventure, gear, and travel. I was also the Special Projects Editor for the Reno News & Review, and a contributor to global publications including GOOD.is and The Mary Sue.

Currently, I work as a content and research strategist, a research consultant for writers and creatives, and a bestselling creator for Dungeon Master’s Guild. This is a place for me to share all of my writing that doesn’t have a home, and I hope you enjoy!

My favorites

Books

  • Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
  • The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Primavera by Francesca Lia Block

Music

  • Lights
  • Chvrches
  • Emancipator
  • Peter Gundry
  • Gregorian Chanting (not joking)

Non-writing activities

  • Ham radio
  • Lockpicking
  • Traveling
  • D&D (still somewhat writing-related)
  • Playing the electric fiddle

--

--

Ashley Warren
Ashley Warren Writes

Founder of Scribemind.com and StorytellingCollective.com. Passionate about immersive storytelling and innovative learning.