YCE—3/25

Anna M
Ashoka Japan
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2019

We began this morning with breakfast at Sharples Dining Hall, the hallmark of an American college experience. Then we explored around the entire campus on a tour; it was fascinating to see all of the various facilities, especially the outdoor amphitheater. I was also inspired by the outdoor chalk walls which create an environment for open learning.

In the afternoon, we had a session at the Lang Center’s Social Innovation Lab where us YVers as well as Swarthmore students shared our passions and projects with one another. The Swarthmore students’ ideas were fascinating, ranging from organizing a theater exchange program with Cuban peers to promoting household insulation to spreading awareness of menstrual health. I learned about a whole new range of issues and it made me realize and appreciate the diversity of potential solutions.

We then learned Zumba! This was a new experience for all of us. I wasn’t particularly confident, but had a great time trying challenging myself and exploring an activity outside of my comfort zone.

We then spent the evening with Kizuna, the Japanese Cultural Appreciation Club at Swarthmore College. It was awesome to see both Japanese and non-Japanese students embracing the culture!

What stood out to me most during my first day at Swarthmore was how truly passionate and joyful every student seemed to be. They were all excited about something, whether it was a social issue or their home country or dance, and their happiness seemed to radiate as I returned more energized than when I left. I really loved the positive energy and supportive academic environment, and most of all, how accepting and welcoming every person we met was.

--

--