This kid asked me for more money

Lensy
Asia Unstereotyped
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2014

--

By Julian Enriquez

During a visit at the scenic Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro, Philippines, a kid climbed up from the starboard side of the transport boat I was in. He was about 8 to 9 years old, tanned from head to toe.

Sea water dripped from him as he stretched out his hand, asking for money. If it was just his eyes, you would have thought he was a tired old man. I gave him a five peso coin. But he continued staring at me, showing his palm. That was when I thought of taking a picture of him.

After I took the picture, he frowned. I felt guilty because maybe he was expecting to get more money. He then turned his attention to the other passengers. He moved quickly while the crew yelled at him to get off the boat. After a few minutes, he positioned himself at the edge of the boat, and to my shock, he secured his collected money inside his mouth and dived back into the water. I saw him board a smaller boat, 20 to 30 meters away. There, he posed, facing me. I took a second picture.

As I reviewed the pictures later, I asked myself, was it a simple thank you or was it the child in him peeking through, wanting to be remembered?

View more of Julian Enriquez’s photos here.

--

--

Lensy
Asia Unstereotyped

Hello! We are a community marketplace for everyday photographers. Feature and tell your amazing stories at www.lensy.com