New Column Alert! Woman. Warrior. Writer by drstephaniehan

Marie Myung-Ok Lee
Asian American Book Club
2 min readMay 20, 2024

--

woman smiling transparent classes ocean background

Dr. Stephanie Han is not just a writer but also someone who believes in lifting up others in a community, specifically other Asian American women writers. So I’m so pleased to announce that she’ll have a regular monthly column here on Asian American Book Club profiling some of the most interesting AAPI women writers working today.

She’s the author of Swimming in Hong Kong, and Woman. Warrior. Writer is for women writers and creatives who inspired me and the name was a tribute to Maxine Hong Kingston’s groundbreaking work.

A few of the early Woman Warrior Writers have included E.J. Koh, Marie Mutsuki Mockett, Sunyung Shin. The women are AAPI writers and/or creatives generously answering questions about writing, money, environment, writing, creativity.

Funny story: I was just in a resort in the Carribean at the behest of a friend (my first time in the Carribean — haha, so that’s where swimming pool color comes from). My main problem is that I’m a New Yorker and literally everything I own is black. Even my swimsuit, a Tyr one-piece, is black!

About the only non-black piece of clothing I had was a white T shirt that said

white t shirt with text

Woman. Warrior. Writer.

Yep. When Dr. Han interviewed me, all the interviewees got a shirt, like we were in an exclusive club. So whenever I travel, I like to bring things that have English on them, because I like to leave clothes behind and I know the housekeeping staff likes American T shirts. I was also feeling I never wear anything other than black (hey, it hides stains), so I would leave the shirt behidn.

However, not only was the light colored shirt very helpful in the crazy Carribean sun, but I got so many compliments on it (“Cool shirt!”) that I almost became self conscious when I was walking around the resort.

Long story short, I brought it back (don’t worry, I left some other stuff along with generous tips and the staff was pleased) and even though space is limited in the NYC apartment, I have it tucked away as my designated “tropical paradise” shirt as I know I will go somewhere like that again!

So watch this space for some closeups of your favorite or favorite-soon-to-be-discovered writers here!

--

--

Marie Myung-Ok Lee
Asian American Book Club

Editor of Asian American Book Club. Novelist, essayist, Columbia prof. Personal writing can be found at @MarieMyungOkLee Twitter/Insta also @MarieMyungOkLee