Woman. Warrior. Writer. July 2024

drstephaniehan
Asian American Book Club
2 min readJul 11, 2024

Woman. Warrior. Writer. Grace Loh Prasad!

How did you come to author your life?

I grew up surrounded by books in Taiwan, New Jersey, and Hong Kong. My parents were very educated and spoke many languages, so I didn’t have to. I call myself an “accidental immigrant” because my parents never intended to settle down in the U.S. We were temporarily exiled while waiting for the political situation to improve in Taiwan. We naturalized and got U.S. passports so that my dad could travel the world as a Bible translator, but living here for so long meant that I forgot how to speak Taiwanese. This is both my biggest regret and the seed of my story.

Grace Loh Prasad is the author of The Translator’s Daughter (Mad Creek Books/The Ohio State University Press, 2024), a debut memoir about living between languages, navigating loss, and the search for belonging. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Longreads, The Offing, Hyperallergic, Catapult, KHÔRA, and elsewhere. A member of the Writers Grotto and the AAPI writers collective Seventeen Syllables, Prasad lives in the Bay Area.

Follow Grace Loh Prasad on Medium @Grace Loh Prasad

If you have any authors you would like to see featured or simply want to see yourself! Please contact me writer@drstephaniehan.com

Every month I’ll feature a writer of fiction, non-fiction, or poetry who will give you some advice on how to write, live, and be in this world:)

Keep writing your truth to power.

drstephaniehan

~empowering women through narrative~

--

--

drstephaniehan
Asian American Book Club

Author. Educator. For writing, health, creativity tips get the Woman. Warrior. Writer. substack @drstephaniehan.com ~empowering women through narrative~