Why read Rebecca Kuang’s bestselling Yellowface

The book helped me rediscover the joy that I had lost somewhere along my reading journey.

Anton Kutselyk
Asian American Book Club

--

the photo is mine

How did I find the book

Last week, I stumbled on a new bookstore in Kyiv. Again. If someone is winning this war, it’s Ukrainian books and bookstores. Hopefully, they won’t burn in the fire of war.

I was lethargically strolling the city and saw this bookstore packed with people, followed the urge and got inside to mix up with other bookworms. Kyiv was raining so many bookworms were crawling the bookstore. We were fighting for books! No, we weren’t. All bookworms behaved civil and docile.

Inside, I stumbled on a book. It was staring at me with its, you know, “almond-shaped eyes” and bright yellow cover. It was expensive. A frugal attack stopped me from buying it. I left, bookless. In a few days, I entered the bookstore again and snatched it from the shelves like a magpie hunting for a shiny… book in a bookstore.

At home, Yellowface by Rebecca Kuang landed on my bedside table and lay there for three days at most. I forgot how fast I can read when I like a book. It feels like a curse once you get into a long period of slow reading and can’t find that one special book to pull you out of it.

--

--

Anton Kutselyk
Asian American Book Club

I live in Kyiv and write about everything I see: culture, life, war and signs of inevitable peace.