The Philippines’ Struggle with Western Fast-Food Chains: Cultural Identity at Stake

Grabbing Life by the Buns: The Bold Digest of Western Fast-Food in the Heart of the East.

Nathan Chen
Asian Mosaic

--

Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

Hey there! This is your resident globe-trotter, fast-food enthusiast, and cultural conversation starter, here to dish out some piping hot facts about something we all love and hate simultaneously: fast food.

Hold up, let me set the scene. Picture me, back in the day, fresh out of college, backpack on my shoulders, naïve excitement in my eyes. I was on my first ever trip to the Philippines, a place that’s essentially a tropical paradise. With more than 7,000 islands, a vibrant culture, and some of the friendliest people you’ll ever meet, what’s not to love? But, boy, was I in for a cultural curveball.

So, as my plane touched down in Manila, I was expecting to be overwhelmed by the mouthwatering smell of local Filipino cuisine. The sizzle of lechon, the fragrant aroma of adobo, the sweet scent of sinigang soup. Instead, I was greeted by the familiar golden arches of McDonald’s. Well, the jokes on me, right?

Let me tell you, seeing Ronald McDonald in the middle of an exotic landscape hit differently. It was like catching my best friend making out with my ex-girlfriend. Confusing…

--

--

Nathan Chen
Asian Mosaic

I'm Nathan Chen, a queer Asian writer advocating for LGBTQ+ issues, Asian representation, work life & mental health. Let's explore life's complexities together!