Discover Your Cartoon Style 101

Asia Noble
Notes on Freelance Illustration
2 min readJul 8, 2020

Update (10 July 2020): this is the first in a series of CSP tutorials available on Skillshare

I have a Skillshare class coming up in a couple of days. It will be available from this link.

The method discussed in this class will build a foundation for which to study the student’s own distinct style and develop that further, by critiquing individual parts of a cartoon’s head, its proportions, lines, and other aspects.

  • How to start and efficient self-study habit
  • How to collect and organize reference images
  • What to focus on when studying references
  • How to do a study of your own work

The goal of this class is to create a study sheet based on existing cartoons (either the students’ own or famous ones). This will help you illustrate with the purpose of creating characters that look like they belong to the very same universe you created. You will learn to effectively study yourself and create a style that you can deliver consistently every time.

Learn to develop your own style sheet, how to remain recognizable within your characters, and how to make your personal brand of awesome show through your own work.

It’s my first online class, I had a pretty difficult time trying to convey my thoughts one-way, since most of my teaching experiences have been in front of a bunch of students. I’m used to interacting and bouncing off student participation more than I am at monologuing.

I am also deathly awkward and tense in these videos. Yikes.

Let me know what you think of my first class (email me at n@asianoble.co)

If you think you or one of your friends might like this class, please feel free to share the link : https://www.skillshare.com/classes/Discover-Your-Cartoon-Style-101-Studying-Famous-Cartoon-Faces/705164074/project-guide

Here’s a video preview of what this class is all about

--

--

Asia Noble
Notes on Freelance Illustration

Freelance illustrator, designer, art director running an illustration business and a remote consulting agency http://asianoble.co