Talk at DroidKaigi 2018 & Kotlin Nights Kolkata

しらじ(shiraji)
ASICS Digital
Published in
22 min readMar 22, 2018

I talked at DroidKaigi 2018 (Feb 8) and Kotlin Nights Kolkata (Feb 11)

日本語は下にあります。

This post might contain spelling and/or grammatical mistakes, sorry!

How to Kontribute v1

In case, you do not know the talk How to Kontribute, I will give a brief description of the talk. This talk describe how to contribute Kotlin as a coder. It has these topics.

  • Setup (10 min)
  • Communication with developers including how to find issues (5 min)
  • Developing Kotlin Plugin feature (20 min)

If you listen the talk, you are able to kontribute. Actually, after this talk at KotlnConf, there are a few people who started contributing Kotlin.

v1 vs v2

In this time, I updated the talk to v2. The main differences are followings:

  • The sample plugin development features (v1: Inspection/v2: Intention)
  • v2 has how to add comment/document and provide sample code

For plugin feature, I can keep explaining Inspection. but I thought describing Intention can be beneficial for the people who listen my talk.

During the party at KotlinConf, some people asked me 2 questions.

  • Is there easier ways to kontribute?
  • Is there a way to kontribute standard library?

Talking “add comment/document and provide sample code” is the answers for these questions.

DroidKaigi 2018

I talked at DroidKaigi 2018 in Feb 8th.

DroidKaigi is a developer-first Android conference in Japan.

This is the one of my favorite conferences. Hopefully, they will provide Japanese to English translators for people who don’t speak Japanese. Most of slides were written in English. The contents were really solid. I think Japanese Android developers are really talented. They are eager to use/speak new technologies.

The process to the talk

I sent CfP and they accepted it. I think they accepted because I talked KotlinConf😄

The contents of my talk

I talked “How to Kontribute v2”. All of the talk in the same time slots are wonderful so I could not gather many people 😢 However, after the talk, some people gave me wonderful feed back. So, it was ok talk (I’m hoping)

Things I could do better

  • The conference was for not kotlin lovers, but android developers.
  • Added too many codes
  • Fotgot about the fact that Japanese people don’t react during the talk
  • Need more practise

Things I did well

  • Someone who already kontribute before said to me that the slides with Intention codes and sample codes clearly describe what happens
  • I tried new tools for talking

Overall, I can do better but I didn’t loose anything AND now I feel I want to do more!

Kotlin Nights Kolkata

I talked at Kotlin Nights Kolkata in Feb 11th. The location is India🇮🇳!!! (but since I have another schedule, I attended the conference, remotely)

Where is Kolkata?

One of largest cities in India https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kolkata

The process to the talk

After the talk at KotlinConf, I was invited to one of large slack team. At that team, rivuchakraborty offered me to the talk.

When he gave me offer, I was really not sure I can handle the talk. Because…

  • There is DroidKaigi 2018 in Feb 8, 9
  • I won’t be able to go the conference
  • I use body language a lot during my talk
  • My English pronunciation is not that good, so it may be quite hard to understand though the video conference.

I asked him to give me some time to think about.

However, after discussing about this with my wife, I noticed that the purpose of the talk is to increase the number of Kontributors in the world. It’s not right to reject this offer. That was why I decided to give my first remote talk in Kotlin Night Kolkata.

The day before the talk

I was not sure if I can connect to the conference. In this event, we used https://zoom.us/ I first thought it is the same as Google Hangout, but it’s not. The biggest difference is zoom can share my screen AND my face/body. Meaning, I could use my body language during the talk💪. (However, since I could not see the conference room during the event, people who listen my talk may not see my gesture 😆)

Anyway, I confirmed to connect to India using zoom.

Event Day

The talk was 11:00 in Kolkata, 14:30 in Japan.

I was logged in at 14:10 in Japan. The room was already ready for the conference, so as ice break, I talked with the people in the room. After a few minutes, I got really nice surprise from rivuchakraborty. He introduced me a guy who starts contributing kotlin after listening my talk at KotlinConf.

I was so glad to talk with him!

To prevent “howling”, we need to mute the conference room’s voice. It’s one of sad thing, because I want to hear what audience respond during my talk. However, people in the room really respond well without voice. They nodded a lot, raised their hands, and gave me a lot of smile 😃 I was so comfortable to talk to them!

The contents of my talk

It was almost the same as DroidKaigi. I changed the small part.

  • Deleted “Question” slide
  • Remove the point “Beautiful wife/Lovely son”
  • Added “Forgive me” slide

Deleted “Question” slide

One of the biggest disadvantage of video conference I thought was communication. Since my pronunciation was bad and I sometimes misunderstand what people said, I didn’t want to take a time for questions. Instead of that, I asked them ask me through Twitter. To be honest, this was bad idea. No one gave me question after the talk. Also, since people in Kolkata are really friendly, I should not be afraid of miscommunication.

Remove the point “Beautiful wife/Lovely son”

A few years ago, one TV show said that some south-east Asia countries don’t accept a husband admire his wife or family. I really don’t remember which counties the TV show talking about. India is one of south-east Asia countries. I really don’t want to act as a rude person in this conference because I was one of representatives of Japan. Since I was not sure about this, I deleted this point from my introduction.

By the way, people in Kolkata, is this rude if I say “My wife is really beautiful and my kid is really lovely. I love my family” during the talk? (Now I start thinking the TV shows was fake news.)

Added “Forgive me” slide

Since I noticed some contents may act as a rude person, I thought I should add this slide. I added this slide just before 1 hour the talk starts.

India and Japan has a lot of similarity. We both love curry🍛! Some people already watched my talk in KotlinConf. I know people in Kolkata forgive me if I accidentally insult their culture. However, as for Japanese, I had to do this. But if I have a chance to talk next time, I won’t add this slide 😉

After this talk

This was the first remote conference that no friends listening in front of me. I thought this might be the touch talk but after the talk, this was one of my best talk. I think people in Kolkata’s kindness make me feel so. They are so nice.

Talk from my home was also one of good thing. It was Sunday. I have a kid who really want to play around with me. If I went to India or even Shinjuku (where DroidKaigi held. Took me 45 mins from my home), I would not be able to go park with my kid after the conference.

I made a talk to people in Kolkata. I didn’t know anything about Kolkata. However, now I am thinking at some point in my life, I would definitely visit there and eat curry!!! Thanks guys for having me at Kotlin Night Kolkata. Thank you!

ASICS Corporation

Since its founding in 1949, ASICS Group has been committed to nurturing the world’s youth through sports in order to contribute to society.
Our vision has been to “Create Quality Lifestyle through Intelligent Sport Technology” and our mission to provide goods and services that promote healthy and fulfilling lifestyles throughout the world.

If you are passionate to work with us, please contact us by sending email: ahq-digital@asics.com

— End of English part ここから日本語—

DroidKaigi & Kotlin Nights Kolkataで登壇させてもらったので、それについて書いてみます。

How to Kontribute v1

今回の登壇の説明の前に、How to Kontributeについて。ざっくり説明すると、KotlinのOSSのコードによった貢献方法の説明です。

  • Setup(10min)
  • コミュニケーション方法, Issueの探し方(5min)
  • 実際にプラグイン開発(20min)

の3つの説明をしています。大概これを聞いてくれればKontributeはできるようになっています。実際にこれを観て何人かKontributorになってくれています。

v1 vs v2

今回はv2にアップデートして登壇しています。大きな違いは以下の点です。

  • プラグイン開発例がv1はInspectionの開発。v2はIntentionの開発
  • v2にだけドキュメント追加手順、サンプルコード追加手順と言った初心者向けのKontribute方法を説明

Inspectionのままでもよかったのですが、IntentionのIssueも多く、いろんな種類の物を提供した方が良いと考えたため、変更しました。
また、KotlinConfでもパーティの時にもっと簡単にコントリビュート出来ないのか?standard libraryにコントリビュート出来ないのか?という質問があり、それの回答としてサンプルコードでの貢献について説明しました。
AndroidはOSSライブラリの開発が活発であるため、これを機にOSS開発に興味を持ってくれる人がいないかなーという想いも入れていました。

DroidKaigi 2018

2/8にDroidKaigiで登壇しました。エモ散らは こちら へ。

DroidKaigiはエンジニアが主役のAndroidカンファレンスです。

自分が好きなカンファレンスの一つです。

登壇までの経緯

CfPを送り、採択されました。KotlinConfで登壇したというネームバリューが大きかったと思います。

登壇内容

v2として話しました。しかし同じ時間帯が素晴らしく、そこまで人を集められず、さらに聞いてくれた人を盛り上げられなかったです。ただ、登壇後多くの方から良いレスポンスを頂けたので、単に自分が一人でパニクっていただけの可能性も若干あります。話していて辛かったですが、話したことにより私を知ってくれた人もいたため、参加出来て本当に良かったです。

反省点

  • 聞いてくれるターゲットユーザ層がKotlin開発者ではなく、Android開発者であった
  • それにしてはコードの説明が多すぎた
  • 日本人は反応が薄いことを失念してしまった
  • 練習不足

いくつか改善点が見えたのは良かったです。

良かった点

  • 前提知識がある人からはIntentionと実際のコードのどこのことを伝えているのかを同時に説明したことによりより明確に何をしているのかが伝えられた。
  • 道具を使ったり、導入を工夫したりといくつか新しい挑戦が出来た

反省点が多い登壇でしたが、次回はもっと良い物に出来たらなーと今は思えるようになりました。頑張りたいと思います。

Kotlin Nights Kolkata

2/11にKotlin Nights Kolkataで登壇しました。場所はインドです!
と言っても、スケジュールの都合上、リモートでの参加とさせて頂きました。

Kolkataってどこ?

インドの大都市の一つです。
https://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E3%82%B3%E3%83%AB%E3%82%AB%E3%82%BF

登壇経緯

KotlinConf登壇により某Slackチャンネルに誘われました。
その後、KotlinConfのTop5のレーティングの公開がされ、自分のトークがTop5入りしました。
そこでrivuchakrabortyさんから登壇をしないか?と誘われました。

誘われた当初DroidKaigi2018とスケジュールが近いこともあり、準備が出来るか不安でした。
スケジュール上、ビデオカンファレンスが確定しており、ジェスチャーが多いトークスタイルであるため、うまくやれるのか不安でした。

How to Kontributeの目標は、世界中にKontributorを増やすことです。
それなのに、スケジュールがーとかうまく出来るのかーとかグジグジするのはおかしい!と思い、意を決して登壇することに決めました。

前日

DroidKaigiが終わり、一通りKotlin Nightsの準備も終わり、さぁ明日だ!と思ったのですが、そもそも接続確認とかしてなかったので、ビデオカンファレンスで利用したいと言われていた https://zoom.us/ の接続確認を試みました。

このサービス非常に良かったです。Google Hangoutと同じかな?と思ったのですが、画面共有をしつつ、自分の映像も引き続き見せることが出来るため、スライドの説明をしつつ、自分のジェスチャーを利用することが出来ました。(ただし、会場がどうなっているかわからなかったので、見えていたかは不明です😆)

appを使うのですが、接続は非常に簡単に行うことが出来ました。

当日

発表はKolkataの現地時間11:00/日本時間14:30から開始予定でした。

そこで、14:10くらいからZoomにログインしたところ、すでに会場と接続されていました。そこで談笑していたのですが、その談笑で会場の雰囲気や自分とのアイスブレイクが出来たと思います。さらにKotlinConfで登壇を聞いて、実際にKontributeしたという方を紹介して頂きました。

すっごく嬉しかったです。

登壇前に会場の音声はハウリングしちゃうから止めるね。と伝えられ、音声聞きたかったなーと思いつつ、トークを始めました。

会場の非常に雰囲気が良かったため、トーク最初の方に質問する部分があるのですが、思い切って質問してみました。当然声が聞こえないので、反応がわからなかったのですが、みんなジェスチャーで答えてくれて、盛り上がりを実感出来ました。はたから見たら独り言みたいな感じで進んでいったのですが、大きくうなづいてくれたりとレスポンスがいっぱいあり、気持ちよく発表出来ました。

登壇内容

登壇内容は概ねDroidKaigiと同じでした。v2.1として一部分修正しました。修正した点として

  • 質問スライドを削除した
  • Beautiful wife/Lovely sonを省略した
  • Forgive meスライドを追加した

質問スライドを削除した

ビデオカンファレンスで一番難しいと思ったのがコミュニケーションです。
特に私の英語の発音が良くないということもあり、質問時間を取らずTwitterなどで直接やり取りをしてほしいと当日伝えました。
でも今考えたらせっかくだったので間違っても良いし、コミュニケーション取れば良かったかなーと思います。

Beautiful wife/Lovely sonを削除した

以前TVで東南アジア圏のある国は夫が妻を外で褒めるのはNGと聞いたことがありました。
この記憶が東南アジア圏としか思い出せず、インドも一応東南アジア圏になるし、もしただの冗談で彼らの文化を傷つけるのは日本人の代表として失礼だ。確証がない状況でこの文言を残すのは忍び難いということで削除しました。
実際どうなんでしょう?私の奥さんは綺麗で、私の子供は本当に可愛く、家族を愛しています。Kolkataの方、こういうことを登壇に入れるのって問題ないのでしょうか?

ちなみに代わりにI really love Butter Chicken Curry!!!というアイスブレイクネタを入れました。

Forgive meスライドを追加した

上記のことがあり、他にも知らない何か失礼なことをしてしまうのではないか?という不安に刈られてしまい、このスライドは入れないといけないと思い、登壇1時間前に追加しました。
同じアジア人で共通点も多いし、すでにKotlinConfを見ている人がいるのはわかっていたので、問題ないと思ったのですが、どうしても日本人の代表として海外の方と接する意識が強かったため、万が一にも失敗はしたくないという思いがありました。
が、多分次もしインドでやる場合、このスライドは入れないと思います。もう一度やって、特に問題ないことがわかったためです。

感想

初めて日本人や知り合いが会場にいないカンファレンスでの登壇でした。またリモートということもあり、やりづらいかなーという印象が最初ありましたが、やってみたらそんなことは全くなく、本当に楽しい登壇でした。Kolkataの人の優しさがそうしてくれたのかもしれません。

家から参加出来るのも良かったです。当日は日曜日ということもあり、家族がいます。もし会場に行っていた場合、数日間は家を空けないといけないですが、登壇した1時間弱の拘束で、終わったらすぐに子供と遊びに行くことが出来ました。

今回自分が知らない国で知らない人たちに対してトークしたのですが、Kolkataに関してもっと知りたくなったし、ぜひ人生のどこかのタイミングでKolkataやインドに訪問してみたいなと思いました。カレーも食べたいしね!

株式会社アシックス

アシックスグループは、スポーツによる青少年の育成を通じて社会の発展に貢献したいという思いから始まりました。
私たちはその創業の精神を受け継ぎ、60年以上にわたり独自の製品とサービスを提供し、現在ではトップアスリートはもとより一般のユーザーまで幅広いお客様より信頼をいただいています。
海外売上比率が80%を超え、世界中でご愛用いただけるグローバルな企業へと進化してきました。

私たちとぜひ一緒に働いてみませんか?興味のある方は ahq-digital@asics.com にメールを送って下さい。

--

--

しらじ(shiraji)
ASICS Digital

Android/Java/Kotlin/GradleライブラリやIntelliJプラグイン作ってます。いきなりPR投げつけていきます。