Day 4 — Gøteborg

Asis Panda
Asis’s Travel Diaries
2 min readJun 11, 2017

Swedish Meatballs

After a tiring evening of frantically trying to find food I decided to stay in my bed till late in the morning. As with most things, time changed my perception of the hostel. My bed was cozy and perfect for me to stay in bed till 11am.

On the agenda for the day was having an amazing lunch, visiting a cathedral and visiting the Volvo museum.

Lunch

My lunch was epic. I found this place in the neighborhood called Haga. Which also turned out to be a very old neighborhood. I found this restaurant called Cafe Kringlan, which served buffet breakfast and lunch. At 11.30am I made right in time for their lunch buffet. The spread was amazing and costed me only 960 Swedish Kronas, which by Swedish standards was extremely cheap. My average till date is 180Kronas, which hurts my wallet so bad.

After lunch I started walking to a cathedral a mile away from the restaurant where I had lunch. It was then I noticed it was supposed to rain. And within minutes it indeed started drizzling. I rushed to a nearby supermarket hoping I can find and buy an umbrella. I indeed found one. But thereafter I lost my zeal of walking to cathedral. I felt like wrtiting. So I stopped by an Espresso House, bought myself a Julmust and started writing.

Now, I must mention Julmust. This drink is incredibly famous in Sweden around Christmas time. I first read about it on Reddit and later that the sales of Coca cola drops by a huge 30% during Christmas as people prefer to drink Julmust.

This coffee shop was interesting as well. It was as popular as Starbucks and from my experience till now I find more number of outlets and people than Starbucks.

The Cathedral

The cathedral was nice, nothing special, just beautiful.

The Volvo Museum

Fearing I won’t be able to make it to the museum which closed at 5pm
I decided to get a pricey UberX. It would cost me around $26.

--

--