Stockholm — Day 2 — Skansen, Vasamuseet

Asis Panda
Asis’s Travel Diaries
3 min readNov 22, 2016

Daylight

Never before did I value day light as much as I do now in Sweden. I plan my day around the duration of daylight; I look up into the bright sky and express gratitude. This, because my plans for the first day in Stockholm were spoiled due to rain, and the next day’s due to a shoe bite! Today, the sky is clear, the sun is shinning out bright. After spending all the time under daylight outdoors I’m sitting by a glass window basking in the sun again. And I’m planning how to spend the remaining one hour of daylight. On the table are two options, first to either sit and continue writing while enjoying the sun or, second going to another place which is outdoors. It’ll take me some time to decide and meanwhile I’ll continue to enjoy the sun.

Enjoying the sunlight.
This is where I wrote this piece. It was about 2pm and there was about 45 more minutes of sunlight left.

My visit to Skansen was such a success. I loved being here, learning how Swedish people used to live in the farm and villages in previous centuries.The animals in Skansen were magnificent. I took a ton of photos, each better than the previous.

Skansen preserved houses and rural Swedish life from the olden centuries (1600s, 1700s, 1800s and 1900s).
The wildlife preserve there was nothing like I’ve ever seen before. The owls were also being fed dead rats for lunch.
The day light was the absolute highlight of the day, and the food was humble and delicious.

After Skansen I headed over to another museum or as Swedish people say “museet”. It’s called Vasamuseet and housed an amazing and huge warship from 1628. The ship sunk on its maiden voyage after traversing only a few hundred meters. Yet, the ship is a work of art, there were several wooden sculptures and designs on the ship.

The Vasa ship. This amazing panorama shot was made awesome by my Google Pixel XL.

After Vasa, I made my way to the shopping district of the city to see some design stores. My walk from the day and to the stores were so tiring and long that couldn’t enjoy my time there and desperately wanted to head back.

I made my way to the Indian restaurant nearby and got myself made a fish curry out of the menu. The poeple in the restaurant were nice, I was not surprised because they were from West Bengal, a province known for nice and hospitable people.

I then headed to my room and called it a day.

--

--