What Is Ask a Swim Teacher?

A publication dedicated to teaching parents how to handle the exciting, overwhelming, and sometimes traumatic experiences surrounding swim lessons.

Jessica Yanez
Ask a Swim Teacher

--

Photo by Jessica Trumpour

I taught children to swim for eight years.

I taught teachers how to teach their students to swim. I taught parents to teach their children to swim. I wrote training programs and updated basic “stroke guides” to include child development and child psychology tips. I have in-depth knowledge of the psychological and physical processes of learning to swim. I can hear how someone is slapping the water and know intuitively what is wrong with their stroke.

When I was younger I wanted to be a classroom teacher, but attending school was never truly in my cards — not at that time anyhow. So I taught swimming. And instead of sitting in a classroom to learn, I self-taught. I spent my time off reading articles on how to be a better teacher, understanding child psychology and child development, learning how to be a better leader and even how to educate adults. I was passionate about my job and I wanted my students (adults and children alike) to gain the best knowledge they could from me.

--

--

Jessica Yanez
Ask a Swim Teacher

Just an Adam Sandler mom trying to be a put together mom. Writer | Philosophical Thinker | Autodidact