DEAD PEOPLE WRITING

What Happens to Your Medium Account When You Die?

You Can’t Take It With You. Does it Automatically Expire When You Do?

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
Ask an Editor
Published in
4 min readMay 18, 2024

--

I’m going to Heaven when I die. And I’m Taking my Medium Account with me! (Photo by Martin Adams on Unsplash)

I’m a writing coach and editor-for-hire. For decades, I’ve worked with writers to improve and publish their prose. My current specialty is helping Medium members write better, more boost-able stories.

Because I’ve held myself out as an Unofficial, Unpaid Medium expert, and because I’ve been on the platform for 5+ years, I often get Medium-related questions from readers.

Debra Anazonwu recently asked me a question as a response to this essay:

Her question?

What happens when a Medium writer dies? Should you instruct your next of kin to copy your stories and delete

--

--

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
Ask an Editor

Writing Coach and Editor Roz Warren (roSwarren@gmail.com) will help you improve and publish your work.