WRITING ADVICE FROM A PRO

Writers! Should You Use Contractions When You Write?

Yes! Here’s Why.

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
Ask an Editor
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2024

--

Photo by Amanda Jones on Unsplash

I’m a writing coach and editor-for-hire. For decades, I’ve worked with writers to improve and publish their prose. My current specialty is helping Medium members write better, more boost-able stories.

One of my clients recently asked me about using contractions.

“I prefer a casual style of writing and I like using contractions,” he told me. Like “it’s” instead of “it is.” What advice do you have when it comes to deciding whether or not I should use a contraction?”

My advice?

Write the way you talk.

The result will be effective and accessible writing.

Most folks use contractions when they speak, so using them when you write makes sense.

Some people think that writing ought to be more formal or high falutin’ than conversation but they’re wrong.

--

--

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
Ask an Editor

Writing Coach and Editor Roz Warren (roSwarren@gmail.com) will help you improve and publish your work.