Just Josie

Aging Gratefully and Gracefully

Ask Us Beauty Magazine
Ask Us Beauty Magazine
2 min readMar 10, 2022

--

Image courtesy of Ask Us Beauty

As we begin to make our way out of profoundly challenging times, I have been thinking about the ways in which the global pandemic has impacted our lives; the good and the bad. It has undeniably forced us to confront our deepest questions and fears about life, death, and suffering. However, I believe that our new normal casts a bright light on what TRULY matters in this ONE beautiful LIFE we have been given.

When the realization set in that covid-19 was here to stay for a while, my type-a kicked in! I immediately set goals, the same goals I put on my list on January 1st every year. Learn a new language, finally learn to play the guitar I bought 10 years ago, get super fit, meditate, read more, etc. Well, none of that happened. Instead, the pandemic forced me to pause, self-reflect, and slow my busy ass down.

It gently nudged me to examine the areas in my life that felt off-kilter and take stock in my most important relationships. It showed me that I need more balance, self-care, and to never forget that the most important relationship I will ever have, is the one with myself. And today, after months of reflection on my life- I turn to my own reflection in the mirror and I am grateful for simply being alive and I am learning (baby steps) to be grateful for every new wrinkle that I swear was not there yesterday.

For as long as I can remember, my passion has been to live my best life, educate myself as much as possible about health, wellness, and the cutting-edge science of aging. When I was asked to grace the cover of the inaugural issue of Ask Us Beauty, I was excited about the opportunity and learned about the other incredible women and doctors featured. I loved getting to personally know the women behind the magazine and their mission of women defining beauty on their own terms. I am inspired to be part of this amazing community of women and for all of us to celebrate the aging process together.

I am so excited to share with you all things beauty + wellness-related. From my favorite products, procedures and life hacks to advice and tips from today’s top beauty and health experts as well inspiring stories from everyday women.

Cheers to Aging gracefully- And gratefully,

Josie

— Written by Josie Bissett, Contributor, Ask Us Beauty Magazine

This article was originally published in Ask Us Beauty’s Holiday Issue on November 25, 2021.

--

--