“My Culture, Your Politics” Introduction, Self-Reflection and Questions

Satu Kuitunen

A Soul for Europe
A Soul for Europe
5 min readSep 7, 2017

--

Satu Kuitunen

On 6th of October, University of Aberdeen Politics and International Relations Society and A Soul four Europe are organising a panel on the topic “My Culture, Your Politics”. Whilst organising the event and twiddling with the topic, I’ve been reflecting on my own experiences of EU/Europe and wanted to share this with you. I am also bringing up some general questions as well as micro-level thoughts that Simon Mundy’s introduction to the topic made me think about and reflect on.

My European Reality

It is evident that the chances I’ve had and the privileges that I enjoy have altered my perception of the EU, culture, economics and politics. If I did not enjoy these chances and privileges, I probably would not have the time, energy, or knowledge to concern myself with questions on the EU, such as what the EU offers or who is assuming responsibility for Europe. But given that I have had the privilege, I will paint my picture of the EU and walk a mile in the shoes of others who do not have that opportunity.

Growing up in a relatively multicultural neighbourhood in Finland in the 90s, I have only known one reality, that of being a member of the European Union. I have actively travelled around Europe, I’ve been introduced to numerous European languages, speaking 4 of them myself and I’ve handled monetary transactions in Euros for as long as I can remember. I moved away from Finland when I was 18 to work and study because I wanted to, not because I had to. At the moment, EBA, single currency and economic union make my everyday work in my internship place much easier than it would otherwise be.

This freedom and mobility derived from the EU is deeply engrained in who I am. Therefore, being in the EU and sharing our culture and politics across the nation blocs, is something very natural to me. I carry my EU passport with pride, however, too often I don’t remember to be grateful for the rights that I have or to question my own position.

The Other Side of the Spectrum, very broadly

On the other side of the spectrum, there are many who feel like the EU has not had any influence on their lives and how could it? This is not necessarily a fact but these are feelings, which matter. Why should, say, a Spanish Commissioner know exactly what matters most in Finland or does a Luxembourgian leader really care about what matters to people in East Midlands?

The simple answer is clearly that they do not, and we cannot even expect them to do so. They do not specifically care about what happens in a single region in the EU that is distant to their immediate surroundings. It is their job to ensure that everyone has an equal say in what should matter and then execute in the best manner possible. EU’s various social, environmental and infrastructural programmes that have been enacted have indirect effect on the whole region, rather than having a direct effect ‘in their constituency’, to borrow an example from the UK electoral system.

Even further, some of the core elements of EU such as EEA and free movement of people, goods and services also represent the problems of globalisation to some. Globalisation and open economy undeniably have brought about growth and plurality of opportunities and many of us reading this debate today probably enjoy the possibilities of the globalising world. However, we are all familiar with the old debate between economists as well as politicians on whether the effects of globalisation have increased regional, and global, disparities, depriving certain areas while convergence and equality of opportunities remain as distant utopia.

These elements and observations have on their part contributed to the development of a binary debate on many questions ranging from ‘nationalism vs internationalism’, ‘for or against’, ‘conservatism vs liberalism’ all culminating in the ‘us vs them’ narrative. Debates that take opposite positions from the beginning have seemingly served little to no purpose. All that it achieves is alienating the sceptics further and creating an echo-delusion chamber for the proponents.

Therefore, I urge all of you to think about the tools that each of us possess and try to ‘walk a mile in each other’s shoes’ before jumping into a debate.

With that in mind, I personally have a few topics I would love to bring into the debate, online and in Aberdeen:

Are there conditions for shared European culture to exist within EU/Europe where there is a great multiplicity of cultures and identities?

If so, why do so many feel like it does not apply to them? Nationalism in general has a negative tone and has largely become a hostile concept in EU politics and politics in general and undeniably has a difficult and violent past. However, could national pride or healthy patriotism actually amend the pan-European experience?

Why does it so often seem that there is a correlation between individual’s socio-economic status and the experience of EU?

Is EU partly a project for those who have the chance to travel, go to ERASMUS exchange, move abroad, live in cities and have a higher education? Of course not, since EU fights for everyone’s rights such as security, health care and clean environment. But there is an observable correlation in attitudes. I don’t want to make this a Brexit debate but the outcome serves as a good example. The decision for the UK to leave the European Union was overwhelmingly supported in parts of England with low income and education levels (The Guardian 24.6.2016).

Factors causing divide and stirring up hatred, such as regional separatism and radical nationalism, are rather symptoms than the disease itself, and we should treat the disease. How can education and cultural as well as political programmes tackle this issue effectively?

How do we get rid of the shackles of binary categories and debate? By simply countering something, like the much talked far-right, we won’t end the battle but extend it. All sides need healthy self-criticism and need walk the mile in each-others shoes. Slightly repeating myself, what tools do we have, among politics as well as culture, to open the discussion and tackle the divide?

Satu Kuitunen (@kuitsat)

Satu is Economics and International Relations student from Finland but currently residing and studying in Aberdeen, Scotland after a one year of exploration in London. She is running the politics and IR society in Aberdeen and is one of the founding members of Aberdeen politics journal, The International Academic. Currently, she is involved with and organising the A Soul for Europe Forum in Aberdeen and is always seeking new projects. After her graduation, she is looking to complete master’s degree somewhere else in Europe in order to gain perspective and explore.

--

--

A Soul for Europe
A Soul for Europe

We connect citizens and democratic institutions across Europe, fostering a sense of responsibility for the future of Europe and democracy through culture.