Meet Vivian Liberti: Design Manager at Stanford Health Care

Aspirational Women
Aspirational Women
Published in
4 min readJan 22, 2018

Interviewed by Lingling Chen

Vivian Liberti is the Design Manager at Stanford Health Care (SHC), a distinguished academic medical center recently ranked US News Best Hospitals. She has a challenging job, which is to lead the design and execution of all marketing materials, printing and mailing of SHC’s service lines. She is also responsible for the creation of sub-brands for partnered onsite employer clinics for companies like Qualcomm, Cisco and Intel.

Read our interview with Vivian to learn how she landed her current job and what she loves about working at SHC.

Can you share your career experience after college?

During my senior year of design study at San Jose State University, I was also minoring in Advertising. One of my advertising classmates told me about the Multicultural Advertising Intern Program (MAIP) put on by the 4A’s. I was selected to be a digital/interactive intern in Washington DC for the upcoming summer. I loved the few months I spent on the East Coast, but ultimately missed California, and decided to return to the Bay Area after the internship. I worked my way through a design firm, then advertising agency in Las Vegas, and slingshotted back to the Bay Area and freelanced for a year through multiple companies and startups around 2008. Ultimately, every design job since college has given me a better idea of what I’d like to work on next, or the type of team I’d like to be a part of. Specifically my current position at Stanford Health Care, a former classmate from San Jose State University recommended me to it — word-of-mouth.

What are the most important skill sets or qualities that are valued in your job?

Great communication skills. It’s better to over communicate your ideas: verbally, email, even napkin drawings are incredibly helpful to get a point across!

Why did you choose graphic design as a profession?

I actually had big dreams to work in advertising after school. But after a taste of its cut-throat world, I wanted to work in an industry that makes a difference — that’s why I’ve been in healthcare for the past 8 years.

What part of it makes you excited?

The constant learning and on-going education of healthcare is amazing. There’s always new procedures, and breakthroughs at Stanford.

What is the biggest obstacle you have overcome, as it relates to your career or life?

I guess the additional juggle of being a mom is a new addition in my life. I’m constantly re-prioritizing my to-do list!

What motivates you every day?

I am blessed to work with an awesome team of designers at Stanford Health Care!

What’s the best advice you have ever been given?

Twice in my lifetime, after different interviews, I was encouraged to NOT take the job offer. The first time, it was for a production level job at a agency where the manager said it was a rare occurrence for production to turn into a design role — after reviewing my portfolio, he saw I wanted to be a designer, and encouraged me to continue on my job search. But if I was interested, he would offer me the production role, and hope that I would only stay a year before moving on. I learned that anytime someone tells me NOT to take a job, I should listen.

Fun facts about yourself that most people don’t know?

I used to be a dating blogger when I was single. I’ve always been interested in relationships and communication between people. I was terrible at interviews until I realized that I should be using the same skills from first dates on job interviews. Telling an interesting story about oneself and natural conversation is part of the sell.

How do you find ways to relax when you feel stressed?

Go for a long walk around the neighborhood. I’ve mapped out a great 3mile loop near my house that goes by the Bay.

What do you do for a typical weekend?

Catch up on laundry, and try to do some meal prep on Sundays.

Favorite fashion brands and why?

Banana Republic. Working in healthcare means maintaining a business casual wardrobe M-F. Banana Republic isn’t overwhelming like Macy’s with too many departments and brands.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

Artist, radio host and graphic designer.

What’s your dream alternative career?

I wanted to be an MTV VJ (back when it was popular). I’ve always wanted to be the voice of my generation, I suppose that could translate to blogger now-a-days.

What’s still on your bucket list?

More traveling — always.

--

--

Aspirational Women
Aspirational Women

A supportive community for professional women to dream big and take the leap.