Create Your Own Public Slack Chat Community with Slackin

Ahmad Ajmi
Aspire Themes
Published in
3 min readMar 16, 2017

I was looking to create a Slack channel for Aspire Themes where I and my customers can discuss, share, and get fast support with Slack. The one thing I worried about is how anyone can get an invitation and join the channel easily.

I found Slackin to be a great solution, it creates a public landing page for users to fill their email to receive a Slack invitation.

Slackin

Prepare Slack

Deployment

  • Install the Now command line interface for with NPM.
npm install -g now

Next, from the command line, use the following command to deploy Slackin to ZEIT, using the API token and the team name you early created.

now -e SLACK_API_TOKEN="<token>" -e SLACK_SUBDOMAIN="<team-name>" now-examples/slackin
Deploy to ZEIT

That’s all you need to do, and once the app is deployed, a new URL (example) for the landing page will be created and ready to share.

  1. Landing Page (Demo)
Image Credit

2. Badge (Demo)

3. Realtime Subscription (Demo)

Image Credit

The landing page URL will be similar to now-examples-slackin-hzqfnemqkc.now.sh, and of course, customizing this URL to a subdomain would be another great step. I think ZITE Premium enables custom domain support, for now, I created a Masked URL Redirect Record with NameCheap and by doing this I can access the landing page from slack.aspirethemes.com

Masked URL Redirect Record

I hope this will help you create your next Slack Channel, and if there any tips or recommendations you like to share, I would be happy to hear and learn from you.

Did you enjoy this post? Why not give it some ❤️ or a share? Also, if you are looking for a new WordPress, Ghost, or Jekyll theme, check out Aspire Themes 👌

--

--