14 Beautiful Excerpts from My Favorite Christina Rossetti Poems

A collection of lines that have shaped me

Lark Morrigan
Assemblage
Published in
6 min readAug 31, 2022

--

Daniel Robert, via Unsplash

Christina Rossetti has been a significant influence on my poetry.

The lyrical and somber way she describes universal themes reminds me of why I fell in love with poetry in the first place, even when I was too young to understand the gravity and depth of her emotional expressions.

I was in awe of the beautiful and symbolic language when I first read a poem of hers. In my eyes, it was utterly divine and over the years, I’ve gained great appreciation for symbolism and allusions. I’m also a fan of poets in general who are genuinely skilled at rhyming without losing meaning, and Rossetti is a master of rhymes.

Although I have not read every single poem she wrote, I admire her writing style the most and I love more poems by her than any other poet.

Here are fourteen incredible excerpts that I’d like to share:

1. From “Later Life: a Double Sonnet of Sonnets”

“A hundred thousand birds salute the day: —
One solitary bird salutes the night:
Its mellow grieving wiles our grief away,
And tunes our weary watches to delight;
It seems to sing the thoughts we cannot say,
To know and sing them, and to…

--

--