Baby Showers In The Time Of COVID

Lessons in human kindness

Megan Minutillo
Assemblage

--

Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

I recently celebrated my first baby shower. My mother and mother-in-law threw me a party to welcome our little love into this world in about a month. They took the time to make food, and set up decorations, and figure out the logistics of throwing a party in the time of COVID. My mom took the time to find the perfect invitation (a storybook theme) and come up with appetizers that corresponded to beloved children’s classics, like making a caterpillar out of mozzarella, tomato, and capers and titling the dish, The Very Hungry Caterpillar. The deviled eggs were stuffed with guacamole — Green Eggs and Ham, anyone?

Each piece of chocolate included in the party favors was wrapped in a tiny little children’s book cover.

The details were out of this world.

It was delightful and lovely and everything I could’ve hoped for in a baby shower, especially after a long road of IVF. It was something that I almost decided not to do, as I was terrified of something going wrong and jinxing something. IVF is something that makes you hold your breath with hope and cautious optimism, and general terror at the same time, and so, things like baby showers are a hard thing to wrap your head around.

But it would’ve been a shame to miss out on all of…

--

--

Megan Minutillo
Assemblage

Essayist, poet, and theatre producer. I write stories about self-awareness, IVF, and finding your footing in life’s messy moments. Instagram: @meganminutillo.