Copper’s Flame

A poem of the blues, but not like that

Melinda Smith
Assemblage
1 min readMar 25, 2020

--

Photo by Sumit Saharkar on Unsplash

Count me in slowly,
Elegiac stanza
Blue as the music
That nestles my skin
Deep ocean waters
And blood that’s been battered
Blue without oxygen
Sickly and thin

Paint me, Picasso
Like nothing else matters
When pieces of faces
Erupt like the stars
I’ll run like the sulfur
That glows down the mountain
Cerulean lava
That melts through our scars

Blue like the crystals
Of ice that break through you
Bursting through cellular
Modular blocks
Azurite quarries
Form chasms within us
Shearing the gears of these
Quartz crystal clocks

Blue as the birdsong
The creeps through my window
Bringing the morning
Through eyes that can’t see
Blue as the love of
The warrior poets
Entangled in you
And entangled in me

Listen to the reading of the poem here.
Find me at ScienceGeekMel.com or on Twitter

--

--

Melinda Smith
Assemblage

Writer of science, fiction, sci-fi, & poetry | Recovering academic (PhD, Neuroscience) | sciencegeekmel.com | @ScienceGeekMel