Creativity and the Cabinet of Curiosities

On rejecting the cult of artistic martyrdom and embracing the sacredness of the work itself.

Lance Baker
Assemblage

--

Woman holding umbrella with lights against a night sky.
Photo by Matheus Bertelli from Pexels

I can make my creativity into a killing field, or I can make it into a really interesting cabinet of curiosities.

— Elizabeth Gilbert, Big Magic

Creativity has always been about curiosity for me. My adolescence took place before social media, YouTube channels, and online influencers. I spent hours upon hours writing and recording music on a multi-track digital recorder just because I enjoyed the process. I’d take long walks through the neighbor's farm taking detailed photos of my surroundings because it felt magical.

Very few people ever heard those songs I wrote and recorded. Almost no one saw the photos I took. In fact, I think most of those songs and photos have been lost to old hard drives and outdated technology.

And I feel no loss knowing that those things have been lost because it was never about the final product anyway. It often felt like it was. I’d re-record things over and over again to get them to sound how I wanted. I’d test out all sorts of settings to get the perfect photo I imagined. But in hindsight, those endeavors were more about what feelings and emotions the act of creating produced in me.

--

--

Lance Baker
Assemblage

A fellow observer on the journey through life. Trying to cultivate a deeper way of being in the world.