Have You Lost Your Sense Of Self In Your Relationship?

It’s detrimental to forget your needs

Carrie Wynn
Assemblage

--

Adobe Stock Photo

What does it mean to lose your sense of self in a relationship?

To me, it means that you stop putting yourself first. You stop thinking about your needs, desires, and dreams because you’re so focused on your significant other.

This often happens in abusive/controlling relationships due to the trauma that follows the abuse which can completely erode someone’s self-confidence and self-worth.

However, it also often happens in perfectly healthy and normal relationships especially if you tend to lean on the more codependent side of the spectrum.

I used to lose myself in every relationship. I always put the other person first and allowed them to consume my life and thoughts.

These are the ways that I was able to prevent my old patterns from arising in my most recent relationship which in turn, has left me the happiest I’ve ever been both in the relationship and with myself.

Check-in with your feelings

We always ask the people we love how they feel. How often do we ask ourselves?

Check-in with both your body and mind when you are in your relationship. How do you feel before you…

--

--

Carrie Wynn
Assemblage

❦ Writer/coach specializing in relationships. Blog: carriewynn.com Instagram: carrie_wynnmusings Support by: https://medium.com/@carriewynn/membership