I Don’t Want a Cool Guy

He Disappoints Every Time

Bonnie Barton
Assemblage

--

Credit: StockSnap via pixabay.com

Gone Girl put the concept of “the Cool Girl” at the forefront of pop culture. No one has torched the Cool Girl better than the blistering Vanessa Torre.

But what about the Cool Guy? (To clarify: I’m not talking about the bad boy archetype.)

The Cool Guy. Laidback guy. Easy going guy. Go with the flow guy.

Is this really the person that men over 30 want to emulate?

It’s not Peter Pan syndrome per se. These guys have jobs. They’ve got bank accounts. They’ve had girlfriends. Maybe they’ve been divorced. They might even have kids.

But they revel in being easy going and laid back.

Over the past year of encountering several of these self-proclaimed “laid back” guys, I’ve reached some conclusions.

Too many guys in today’s dating minefield use this as an excuse to be indifferent, lazy, non-committal, unreliable, and detached.

I’m easy going frequently translates into:

~ I’m not going to ask you out.

~I’m going to be vague about how I feel about you.

~“Some time” and “maybe” are going to be used with frequency.

--

--

Bonnie Barton
Assemblage

Queen of mixtapes. Lover of music, travel, and fashion. Authentic sharer of life lessons and dating foibles.