I Step Out Into Dusk

Kara B. Imle
Assemblage
Published in
1 min readJan 26, 2021

--

Doorways. Photo by Author.

I step out into dusk after a difficult day
spent wrestling demons indoors.
Wind shushes in the treetops
and something heavy lifts off my shoulders.
Tall spirits walk beside me in the dark
I can’t explain how I know this
but if you were here you would feel them too.

Depending on how you see things
the road is either a strip of mud
or a silver ribbon in muted moonlight
and poetry streams behind me in the wind
that only the spirits can read. I will try
to capture it later and wrestle it
onto paper
much like a demon, or clouds passing
over a three-quarter moon.

Kara B. Imle is a poet, memoirist, and healer. She lives in the liminal space between land and sea, on a small island in the Pacific Northwest. She likes hiking, kayaking, and geeking out on words.

--

--

Kara B. Imle
Assemblage

Memoirist, poet, shamanic practitioner currently residing on Turtle Island.