I Was Catfished and Stalked On Medium

Things can get weird around here

Bonnie Barton
Assemblage

--

Credit: Jaroslav Devia via unsplash.com

If you write on Medium often enough and long enough, you’re likely to have shared experiences. Maybe you’ll have your work plagiarized. You’ll encounter some (or lots of) trolls. You’ll make wonderful friends — with fellow writers, as well as your readers.

But if you’re me, you’ll also experience strange things in Mediumland!

The Time I Got Catfished on Medium

The main reason I started writing about online dating post-divorce was to be honest about what it’s really like to be middle-aged and starting over.

Of course, everyone knows that dating is mostly terrible, but I felt like not many people were being specific about what that actually looked like. I wanted to share my dating stories, foibles, and anecdotes as a deeper insight into today’s dating world.

Over a year ago one of my male readers reached out to me. He never hit on me; rather, he wanted my advice on his online dating profile.

Unbeknownst to him, my therapist and some others had been encouraging me to turn my dating expertise into profitable financial opportunities. People suggested I start a podcast, participate in panels, and/or become a dating consultant.

--

--

Bonnie Barton
Assemblage

Queen of mixtapes. Lover of music, travel, and fashion. Authentic sharer of life lessons and dating foibles.