Lovesong for a sister

Sarah Marie Wiebe
Assemblage
Published in
1 min readAug 14, 2020

Without much notice
Suddenly I found myself in flight
En route home, to a place I’d never been before

When I landed, you weren’t there, we couldn’t touch
Only speak through the screen
Quarantine, a haven, a building nest

Family is everything, that you make of it
Sacrifice, blood, more-than-nuclear
(s)kin

With so much uncertainty
Your love nourished my spirit
Cultivating the kind of care only a sister can

A surprise gift
To spend this time with you, brother-in-love and pup
Finally, I set free, taking off, without you I wouldn’t be

--

--

Sarah Marie Wiebe
Assemblage

academic, writer, mixed media storyteller, political ecologist / often at the coastline reading books and bathing in the forest or sea / tattoo & tea enthusiast