Social Sickness

Stacy (Wurz) Alamond
Assemblage
Published in
4 min readDec 31, 2019
Photo by Kon Karampelas on Unsplash

We now exist in a world where the boldness of expression cannot be bolstered. No longer do people keep their thoughts to themselves. Social media invariably is like having complete and utter diarrhea of the mouth. Any situation in one’s life will be granted an opinion no matter the reasoning. It could be as simple as giving free pony rides to children and turn into an all-out war against the mistreatment of the pony. I am all for freedom of expression, but at what point does it turn into abuse?

I had my first experience this past week sharing the loss of my son with this new general public. They didn’t agree with the way I brought light to what happened to him and the comments made my son’s death feel like it was happening all over again. I had medical professionals laughing at the fact my son died while referring to children who had passed away as ‘dead babies’. Others continued to lament and laugh at my failure to keep my child alive. They continued to incorporate their army of inconsiderate and brash people without empathy and with nothing but judgment.

I remember thinking to myself maybe I should just stay out of this ugly arena. After a while when all of the words I needed to speak were written and the comments grew darker and more hurtful I did walk away. I learned an invaluable lesson about social media that day and about the human condition. The fact is that humans have been conditioned to attack and kill anything they disagree with. The things people would never say to your face find their way onto the wall of a grieving mother’s Facebook page.

If I could just have one moment to look at this person in the face and stare deeply into their eyes and exchange real human emotion, would they be able to treat me in the same regard? If they had sat in the hospital with me that day as I watched the doctors perform CPR to try to bring my son back to life. If they had been sitting in the chair where I sang my son his last lullaby. If they had attended the funeral where my little boy lay in a wooden box, would they still be able to share such hateful remarks?

The most alarming part of the last week of my life was how hateful these people were to me but the most beautiful part of the last week was those who showed love, and they outnumbered the hate. Evil comes in a form that looks much like a person. I’m not quite sure how they got to that situation in their lives, but you almost have to feel sadness for their lack of compassion.

When they were a child it seems that nobody told them to treat others as they would want to be treated. When they were a child their parents might not have told them to be kind to others, especially those in need. When they were a child nobody told them if you have nothing nice to say don’t say anything at all. Then again, maybe they were told, but they didn’t find it important enough to carry into their adult life. I pray that those who throw their swords of evil and hate will one day find clarity and compassion.

For a moment I let you win. For one small moment, my heart broke all over again. It was then I remembered something I wrote in my last article. You can’t hurt me any further than I already am. Just like a person has a cold, there are people who have a social sickness. I will not remove myself from an area where I have found comfort, friendship, and the ability to share my son’s life because of a few sick people. I have learned that their opinions have no bearing on who I am as a mother.

They will not be allowed to break my spirit and the memory of my son. I have worked too hard to get to a point in my life where I can live. Our lives are full of high moments and low ones. Usually, we are teetering between the two daily. When we let others determine our emotions, we lose the ability to find that middle ground. I have learned that even in the darkness the light of Truth exists. Don’t ever let anybody try to steal your light. It is yours and yours alone.

Photo by Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

--

--

Stacy (Wurz) Alamond
Assemblage

Mother to Johnathan, Forever-4. Hails from Rome, NY.