Three Secrets

Poem: My Sister’s Death

Lisa Alletson
Assemblage
1 min readMar 31, 2020

--

Photo: My Sister on My Wedding Day

Still by night
the water lays bare her stars
and I reach
past the sill of my river
for the point
where my sister’s
laughter
once turned the sky
when she left
for those stars
one last time

My final kiss
to her almost warm lips
touches the moment
between breath and death
and I reach once more
for her spirit
until
her last smile

Later
she comes to my room
in some unknown form
tells me three secrets
of life
and then gone
she is gone

I bury her
in the land of endless daffodils
my head
bereft
my world
frozen forward
and she
an arabesque
I will never hold
again

*********

Dedicated to my beautiful sister, who I lost six years ago today. She was a brilliant emergency room doctor known for her patient care, throughout the three hospitals where she worked. She’d be working tirelessly on the front lines today.

--

--