Self help books to read when you hate self help books

A simple way to become happier

Vicente Aceituno Canal
Assorted Thoughts

--

Generated with Mage

Personally, I despise self-help and improvement literature. I have known people almost addicted to it, and my managerial mind can’t take it. My question is always: So, when are you DONE, completed the self improvement or self help? And if you are never done, how do you know you are making any progress.

Despite of my skepticism I did read three books that were not either empty or self-obvious. They are:

Man’s search for meaning, by Viktor Frankl

This book tells of the author’s experiences as a prisoner in Nazi concentration camps during World War II. The author offers insights for the identification of purpose in one’s life, like the fulfillment of tasks or the nurturing of others. This book taught me the importance of meaning in life, that relates to other topics dear to me like the power of creating and sharing stories.

Stumbling on Happiness, by Daniel Gilbert

--

--